Recent Projects – April

I love being busy, at least when it comes to writing. I have so many different projects going at this time that the minute I put one down for a rest, I remember another one I’ve previously set down, and then several others I’ve also forgotten. For the sake of working more efficiently, (and keeping you guys in the loop), I’ll start keeping track of things here rather than in scattered sticky notes and crumpled index cards all over my desk and who knows where else (although I’ll probably keep using those as well).

Starting off with projects already in the making…

Current

  • edit The Elixir of Winefred, a novelette I wrote in 2008; I already have my eye on the perfect market which opens to submissions July 1st.
  • the sonnet series; this is a slow one. My goal is to have an entire chapbook’s worth of sonnets by the August 1st deadline of a certain market I have in mind. So far, I have two complete sonnets and five written ideas for following sonnets (all numbered, of course) compiled in a Word document. Complete with lists of rhymes and themes.
  • write a biblical retelling; this one is important to me. Looking back on my past collections of writing, I find a lot of shallow, feckless writing–good writing, even, but shallow nonetheless. Shedding new light on biblical events will feel more worthwhile, I think, than writing about ghosts or garage sales.

And now some exciting projects yet to be begun…

Forthcoming

  • fairy tales; this one will require quite a bit of research, but is the project I am most excited about. I have several markets in mind for these stories (I find it effectual to pick out markets before I start a given project, if you haven’t noticed) and already have several ideas to work with. More about that soon.
  • poetry; pretty self-explanatory; in addition to sonnets, I’ll continue to experiment with different forms, such as haiku and blank verse (I also love rondeax and I might try my hand at vignette as well…but now I’m getting carried away).
  • widen publications; instead of publishing more work in the same magazines, I’d like to try publishing in more journals. I already have several in mind, some online markets such as Victorian Violet, 50 to 1, and Six Sentences, as well as senior and fledgling print magazines such as Quite Curious, Full of Crow, the Penwood Review, Cabinet des Fées, and many more. Which only means one thing–more writing projects for me. 😀

As always, I’ll continue to post updates as I make progress on these.

1 Comment

Filed under projects

One response to “Recent Projects – April

  1. Pingback: Cinnamon Roast Almonds Are My Cup of Tea | Michaela Tashjian

Leave a Reply

